Skip to content

1985 W. W. Worthington Memorial Trophy

Test piece
Competition no
30th March 1985 Kingsley Mason Yorkshire S Royal 8
Result Place Team Faults
1 Worcestershire & Districts Association 117
2 St Martin’s Guild 163
3 North Staffordshire Association 182
4 Midland Countiers Guild 198
5 Lichfield Archdeaconry Society 199
6 Derby Diocesan Association 241

Worcestershire win the Worthington

The Eighth Annual W. W. Worthington Memorial Ten-Bell Striking Competition was held at St. Paul’s Church, Burton-on- Trent. Once again the weather was fine, though over­cast, which allowed congregation and friends to listen to the ringing outside. Everybody was welcomed to Burton by the Vicar, the Revd. David Morris, who then made the draw for ringing order.

The test piece was a plain course of Yorkshire Royal, judged throughout. Whilst ringing was progressing the bells of Sutton-on-the-Hill (6), Longford (6) and Etwall (6) were open for general ringing, and the ladies at St. Paul’s made a splendid job of providing refreshments at very short notice.

Ringing finished just before 6.00 p.m., and after about 15 minutes the judge Mr. Kingsley Mason was able to announce the result. He started by saying that he was sure that a number of those present were probably waiting for some controversial comments! However, he was going to disappoint them. After some short general remarks he said that in his opinion the winning band had been quite clear, their ringing being by some way the best of the afternoon. The full result he gave was 1st Worcestershire and Districts Association (117), 2nd St. Martins Guild (163), 3rd North Staffordshire Association (182), 4th Midland Counties Guild (198), 5th Lichfield Archdeaconry Society (199), 6th Derby Diocesan Association (241).

The Worcestershire and Districts Association therefore regain the trophy, which they also won in 1979. It was presented to the winning captain Richard Clements, by Mrs. B. Worthington, Mrs. Worthington had travelled especially from Catterick to present the trophy, instead of her late husband Ben Worthington, president of the Midland Counties Guild, who had died last May.

After the presentation a number of those present adjourned to the “Star and Garter”, where a friendly hour or so was spent. Next year’s competition will be held on 12th April, 1986. Guilds who have not entered in the past will be very welcome to do so. B.M.

Ringing World: May 17, 1985 p431


Photo gallery. Names from bottom right, clockwise

[No Photo exists – if you have one, please get in touch!] [No Photo exists – if you have one, please get in touch!]
Worcestershire & Districts Association
David G Franklin, Michael G Clements, Elizabeth A Orme, Jill M Hansford, David Beacham, Arthur C Berry, Martin D Fellows, Richard J Clements, Phillip M Orme, Michael C Hansford.
St. Martin’s Guild
Richard L Jones, Peter Border, Roderick W Pipe, Maurice F Edwards, David Bates, Linda A Bartholomew, Ros Fox, Paul E Bibilo, P Quentin Armitage, Richard F Knights.
[No Photo exists – if you have one, please get in touch!] [No Photo exists – if you have one, please get in touch!]
North Staffordshire Association
Ralph B Mitchell, David I Stanford, Philip W Gay, Selwyn G Jones, Harold Dowler, David J Midgley, Christopher Adams, M Jones, Norman Sherratt, Paul J Atkins.
Midland Counties Guild
Malcolm Quimby, David A Hiorns, Andrew E Else, Alan S Burbidge, Simon C Melen, Susan E Wulkau, Peter Marriott, Brian G Meads, Derek P Jones, Gordon H Lane.
[No Photo exists – if you have one, please get in touch!] [No Photo exists – if you have one, please get in touch!]
Lichfield Archdeaconry Society
Philip R Johnson, Philip A Ramsbottom, David C Everett, Stuart C W Hutchieson, Philip J Day, Martyn G Reed, Simon J L Linford, Wendy B Smith, Eric E Speake, Rachel Woodberry.
Derby Diocesan Association
C Frederick C Pearson, Jane E Orchard, David Kingman, John V Chadwick, Roy A Meads, David Hird, Frances E Haynes, Angela Beardow, Gordon A Halls, Paul J Flavell.